Home History Q&A Heuer first HHS homecoming queen

Heuer first HHS homecoming queen

Published on May 18, 2012 by in History Q&A
Question: When was the first homecoming queen elected at Harrison High School?
Answer: The answer to this question was obtained from a Harrison High School Goblin newspaper dated November 17, 1939. Way back in 1929 it was definitely decided to elect a queen to rule over the tournament of blood and broken bones commonly known as football. Votes were cast by selling tickets and Helen Heuer was honored as being the first queen ever to preside in Harrison High. The first homecoming was rather a quiet affair with no bonfires or snake dances where every kid on the block tried to out-yell his neighbor.
1939 Harrison Homecoming Maids The 1939 Harrison Homecoming maids included, from left: (front) Virginia Baker, Yvonne Aydelotte, Sara Alexander, Jean Fowler, (back) Ima Lou May, Bernell Kimes, Harvey Ann Wood and Freddie Ruth Jones.
In 1930 Martha Parker, one of the beauties of the day, was elected as ruler. Next followed Kathryn Flannery and Mildred Hathcoat in the years 1931 and 1932, respectively. In 1933, the year Anna Belle Crawford was queen, the schedule for the day was somewhat altered. The queen for the first time, spoke to the crowd through a loud speaker and presented the captain of the opposing team with flowers.
The following year, Anna Jane Fowler was elected queen. She was the pride and joy of the Junior Class whose untiring efforts to make her queen were rewarded with success. Mary Jo Wilson, sovereign of the 1935 homecoming was honored with perhaps the most gala festivities of any of the previous Homecoming queens. The game was played in the afternoon and was preceded by a parade in the forenoon and a pep meeting the previous night. The victim of the day was Alma. There was a top heavy score favoring Harrison.
Elizabeth Baker, queen in 1937, was elected by penny vote. She wore a beautiful crown – but “nary hide nor hair” can be found as to the size, shape, color or fashion of that crown. Hero of that day’s game was Dean Rogers, who was slightly injured near the latter part of the game. Harrison emerged victorious after a hard fought game.
The next year, 1938, the queen was elected by the football squad. Virginia Hudson was the receiver of the honor and took over the reign as queen. Even as the game had progressed, so had homecoming. In the forenoon, a large parade was organized and paraded around the square. Every class and organization entered a float and the band furnished music. The freshman class won first for having the best float and were given a cash award.
The queen wore a crown of chrysanthemums and was heralded as one of the popular queens in high school history. The opposition was furnished by Conway. At the half, the band played and marched. The “Goblins” emerged victorious by a small margin.
Mary Frank BakerThis article ends with the year 1939, when Mary Frank Baker (pictured at left), daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bryan Baker, was selected by the Harrison High School football squad. Many preparations were made to make this one of the greatest homecoming events in the history of Harrison High School.
The School Room of the Heritage Museum is filled with memorabilia from various school in the county, with many old copies of the Harrison Goblin newspaper that chronicle the history of Harrison High School homecomings.
The Heritage Museum, located on the corner of South Cherry Street and Central Avenue, is open Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.
This column appears Fridays in the Harrison Daily Times. Mail questions to Boone County Heritage Museum, P. O. Box 1094, Harrison, AR 72601. Marilyn Smith can be contacted at bchm@windstream.net
 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
No Comments  comments 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>